Tenryuji is the temple of Rinzai Zen Buddhism,
one of the three Japanese Zen sects.
It is located in Arashiyama area where is a popular scenic area in the western suburbs of central Kyoto.
This temple is one of 17 constructions of "Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto" designated as a World Heritage Site.
There was Kameyamaden, an Emperor's villa, built in the 1250s here.
Takauji Ashikaga (1305-1358), a warlord and the 1st Shogun of Muromachi Government, changed this villa to the temple in 1345, to console the spirit of Emperor Go-Daigo who had been a political enemy of Takauji.
At that time, the temple grounds covered the whole of Arashiyama area,
and it was about 9.5 square kilometers in area. It is said that there
were about 150 branch temples in the site.
But the temple had been destroyed by fire time and time again, so the site of the temple had become small.
Chokushimon gate is the main gate and was built in the early 17th
There are several buildings such as Hattou, Dai-Houjou, Shou-Houjou, Tahouden in the precincts, and most of them were rebuilt in the early 20th century.
The Japanese garden with a pond named "Sogenchi" was constructed in the early 14th century, and is designated as an extraordinary scenic beauty.
And there are the tombs of Emperor Go-Saga (1220-1272) and Emperor Kameyama (1249-1305). (These are managed by Imperial Household Agency, so we cannot enter the tombs.)
The admission fee to this temple is 500 yen.
By Randen (Kitano Line of Keifuku Electric Railroad), about 22 minutes from Shijo-Omiya to Arashiyama terminal station. Then about 1 minutes walk from there.
Photo by Kougashitsu-Kanegami
Kyoto Imperial Palace