Zojoji is a Buddhist temple located just east of Tokyo Tower.
It is the main temple of Jodo shu (Pure Land Sect) of Buddhism.
It was built in 1393.
And at the early 17th century, here became the temple of Tokugawa family, which had governed as Shogun of Japan for generations until 1868.
Originally it had large precincts and there were many buildings.
But new Meiji government since 1868 reduced the scale of this temple, then most area of the temple changed to current Shiba Park.
And most buildings had been destroyed and lost by the air raid of the World War II.
Current temple precincts are about 200 meters square, and the Main Hall
"Daiden" is the center of the precincts.
And behind the hall, there is the Mausoleum of Tokugawa family. Six of 15 Tokugawa Shoguns lie at rest in it.
On the east side, there is the gate named "Sangedatsumon" ("Sanmon" for short). Originally it had been an inner gate, so the main gate was "Daimon" located about 200 meters east of Sanmon.