Shinkyo is a bridge across Daiya River, and is located just at the
entrance of the area of Rinnoji temple, Nikko Toshogu and Futarasan
The lenght is about 27.8 meters, and the width is about 7.4 meters.
In 767, the high priest Shodo, the founder of Rinnoji, and his
arrived here for the first time.
Because Daiya River had a rapid current, they were unable to cross the
So priest Shodo preyed. Then a god appeared.
The god threw two big snakes. They intertangled with each other, then became a bridge.
Shodo group were able to cross the river, and went to the sacred Nikko mountains.
The first solid bridge was built in 808 here, the bridge had been
rebuilt every 16 years.
And the bridge were rebuilt with updating the image, when Nikko Toshogu was built in 1636. At that time, only Shogun, its officials and priests were allowed to cross.
Unfortunately, the bridge was washed away by a flood in 1902, then the
current bridge was rebuilt in 1904.
From 1997 to 2005, this bridge were repaired overall.
This bridge is one of the constructions of Futarasan shrine.
About 1.5 km from Nikko station.
It takes about 25 minutes.
To taiyuuin, about 0.5 km from the main precincts of Rinnoji. About 10 minutes.
By route bus to Chuzenji or Yumoto-onsen, get off at Shinkyo stop. About 5 minutes from Nikko station.
Photo by Railstation.net
Cedar Avenue of Nikko
Tobu World Square
Ashio Copper mine