Yushima Seido is a temple of Confucius, and is located just north of JR Ochanomizu station.
In early Edo period (the early 17th century), an excellent Japanese
Neo-Confucian philosopher appeared.
He was Razan Hayashi (1583-1657), and he educated some Shoguns of Edo government.
And he opened a school at Ueno area, and he also educated many samurai's sons there.
Also he built a temple of Confucius "Senseiden" in the site in 1630.
After his death, Tsunayoshi Tokugawa, the 5th Shogun, removed this
temple and other school buildings to current site in 1690.
And the temple was renamed to "Taiseiden", and the total buildings were called "Seido".
In 1797 this school became government-owned facility, then it was
called "Shohei school". Since that, the Seido has meant only Taiseiden.
And the school has led to the current Tokyo University and some other national universities.
The original temple was destroyed by the Great Kanto earthquake in
1923, and current Taiseiden was rebuilt in 1935.
Additionally a statue of Confucius endowed from Taiwan in 1975 stands in the site, and it is the largest in the world.
Get off at Ochanomizu station on Chuo and Sobu Lines.
Tokyo Sky Tree