Meiji-Jingu Gaien park is
located west of Akasaka Estate and about 1.5 km east of Meiji-Jingu
We usually call it "Jingu Gaien" for short.
After Meiji Emperor passed away in 1912, this park was constructed for
leaving his monument and was completed in 1926.
(Meiji Shrine was also constructed around the same time.)
Before the World War II, it was under the control of the government, and after the war it has been under the control of Meiji Shrine.
Basically this site is a Western-style garden with many trees, and has
an area of about 48 hectares.
There are the National Stadium built for the Tokyo Olympic Games in 1964, Meiji-Jingu Stadium for baseball, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium and some other sport and cultural facilities.
The central facility is Seitoku Memorial Museum (Meiji Memorial Picture Gallery).
It is a picture gallery, and is the symbol of this park.
In this gallery, there are 80 pictures about Meiji Emperor and Meiji Period drawn by eminent painters at the time.
The main entrance is on the south side of this park and is on Aoyama
From there, there is a straight approach about 400 meters long. And many gingko trees line along the both side of the approach.
Seitoku Memorial Museum is an extension of this approach, so the composition of beautiful trees and stately museum is popular.
Tokyo Sky Tree