Harajuku is eastern district of JR Harajuku station, and the southern border is Omotesando street generally.
"Harajuku" is the old town name, and it had been changed to "Jingumae"
But the name of nearest JR station has been retained, so we commonly call this spot "Harajuku".
"Omotesando" means "main approach to shrine", so the street leads to the entrance of Meiji Shrine.
Since the 1970s, the shops and boutiques selling sophisticated and
stylish clothes had been opened in this area.
And they had been introduced in new fashion magazines, then many young women had come to visit here as an interinsing spot from around the country.
So Harajuku had become the center of fashion in Japan.
Since the 1980s, Takeshita street had developed with enforcement of
vehicle-free promenade, then more young people come to visit here.
Since the 1990s, several flagship shops of famous foreign fashion brands has been opened.
Now here is the most fasionable town for young people in Japan.
is a shopping street.
The west entrance is near the north exit of JR Harajuku station, and the length of the street is about 400 meters.
Most shops along the street are boutiques of fashion for young people. The turnover of them is frequent because of competition for survival.
Most shops are opened at eleven. And the street is free of vehicle from 11:00 to 18:00 every day.
Additionally most shops are closed around eight in the evening.
It is a
Shinto shrine enshrining Heihachiro Togo (1848-1934, Admiral).
He defeated the strong Baltic Fleet of Russia overwhelmingly with his unique tactics on the Sea of Japan in 1905, then it had lead to the victory for the the Russo-Japanese War.
After his death, many people requested the construction of his memorial shrine, then this shrine was built in 1940.
Original shrine had been destroyed by the Great Tokyo Air Raids in 1945, but the current shrine was rebuilt in 1964.
For following his good luck and talent for winning, test-takers and gamblers often visit here.
is a commercial facility located near the intersection of Omotesando
and Meiji streets.
It was built in 1978, and it was the first large commercial facility for fashion in Harajuku area. Since that, it has been a main landmark of Harajuku.
There are many fashion boutiques in it.
It is a small art
for ukiyoe (Japanese woodblock prints in the Edo Period), and is
located just west of Laforet Harajuku.
Seizo Ota (1893-1977) was the chairman of a life assurance company, and he had collected about 12,000 ukiyoes because he had bemoaned the fact that many excellent ukiyoes had outflowed to foreign countries and we Japanese had been unable to enjoy looking at them in Japan.
Then after his death, this museum was founded in 1980 to open them to the public.
The displaying ukiyoes are changed according to the thema every month.
It is a commercial facility with housing located about 0.3 km southeast of Laforet Harajuku. Originally here were the oldest apartment buildings in Japan built in 1927, then this facility was opened in 2006 after the redeveloplement. There are over 100 fashion boutiques and restaurants in it.
Tokyo Sky Tree