Oosu district is an old shopping area in Nagoya,
and is located about 1 to 1.5 km southwest of Sakae area, the central
in Nagoya city.
This district is about 800 meters from east to west and about 400
meters from north to south in width, and there is Oosu Kan'non temple
is at the southwest end of the district.
And main three shopping streets run from east to west. They are Akamon street, Banshoji street and Niomon street.
Oosu Kan'non temple was founded in 1333 at oosu district in Hashima
city in Gifu Prefecture.
In 1612, Ieyasu Tokugawa, the founder of Edo Government, moved the temple to current area. So the name of this district became Oosu.
It was destroyed twice by fire in 1892 and by the air raid in the World War II.
The current temple was rebuilt in 1970.
In this district, there are some other temples, then it has developed
as one of the main temple towns in Nagoya.
From the late 19th century to the early 20th century, theaters and comedy houses were built, then here became an entertainment district.
But since the 1950s, Sakae area with some department stores became the popular shopping area, so Oosu had lost customers.
Since the late 1970s, many electronics shops had been opened in this
district, Oosu changed the town like Akihabara in Tokyo. So young
customers returnd here.
Recently, several manga and game shops has come to Oosu, and some maid cafes are open.
Since 2003, the World Cosplay Summit has been held in early August, and various manga cosplayers over a dozen countries in the world play the action and parade in Oosu.
Oosu has not only above shops but also traditional local restaurants,
various countries' restaurants, old clothes shops, and many other shops
So it is said that Oosu is the town mixed with Akihabara, Asakusa, Harajuku, Ikebukuro and Sugamo in Tokyo.
In fact, we can find that many young people, old people and foreigners.
Get off at Oosu-Kan'non (Tsurumai Line) or Kamimaezu (Meijo Line, Tsurumaii Line).