Megane Bridge is an old stone bridge over
Nakashima River flowing through central Nagasaki city.
It is about 1.3 km southeast of JR Nagasaki station.
"Megane" means "spectacles".
It has two arches, so their reflection in the water create the image of a pair of spectacles.
The original bridge was built by the chief priest of Kofukuji temple
near here in 1634.
But it has been often dameged by flood.
Along the river, there had been 14 old stone bridges, but most of them were destroyed by the great flood in 1982.
Now the bridges in their original shape are only Megane Bridge and Fukuro Bridge about 100 meters downstream.
Other bridges has been rebuilted.
But the old and the attractive shape make Megane Bridge popular.
The length is 22 meters and the width is 3.65 meters.
By street car with route No. 2, 4 or 5, get off at Nigiwaibashi stop.
Photo by Rettou-houmotsukan
Oura Catholic Church