Ohara is a district located about 20 km northeast of central Kyoto.
It is in the valley formed by Takano River flowing into Kamo River at
There is Mount Hiei about 7 km south of this district.
In Japanese, Ohara is pronounced as "Oohara".
This town had been a stopping point of the important road connecting Kyoto and Obama city facing the Sea of Japan.
And when civil wars or political wars occured in ancient times, key figures escaped from Kyoto through this district.
Also, the hermits from Kyoto had lived around this district in such times.
Ohara is close to Enryakuji temple on Mount Hiei, so several temples of Tendai school of Buddhism had been founded since the 8th century.
It is a Buddhist temple of Tendai school founded in 788 by high priest
Saicho, and is the central temple in Ohara district.
It is surrounded with stone walls like a castle, and several buildings are in the temple grounds.
"Oujou-Gokurakuin" built in 966 is the central temple. It is very modest, but it is surrounded with beautiful garden covered with moss.
And there are two beautiful Japanese gardens.
The admission fee to this temple is 700 yen.
It is a small temple founded in 1013, and is located just north of
There are various plants in the Japanese garden, and we can enjoy the garden during all seasons.
The admission fee to this temple is 600 yen, and Japanese tea and sweets are served.
It is a temple located just north of Jikkou-in.
It was founded in 835 and current main temple was rebuilt in 1778.
In 1186, two high priests, Kenshin and Honen, had a hot discussion in this temple, so this temple has been called "Temple of questions and answers".
The admission fee to Entoku-in is 300 yen.
It is a temple just next to Shorin-in, and was founded in 1012.
It has two Japanese gardens. A pine tree about 700 years old in a garden is popular.
And the ceiling of a temple has the floor boards of the Fushimi Castle which existed until 1625.
In 1600, hundreds of samurais guaring the castle killed themselves on the boards in a war.
They had been set up to console their souls. The name of ceiling is scaring "Chi-tenjo" (Bloody Ceiling).
The admission fee to this temple is 800 yen, and Japanese tea and sweets are served.
It is a temple located about 300 meters east of Sanzen-in.
It was founded in the 850s, and was reestablished in 1109.
There were many buildings in the temple grounds, but they were destroyed by fire in 1426.
The main tample was rebuilt in 1533.
The admission fee is 400 yen.
It is a waterfall located about 0.4 km northeast of Raigou-in.
"Otonashi" means "silent".
Priest Ryonin, who reestablished Raigou-in, was training the song of Buddhist scriptures against the waterfall.
His song had accorded with murmuring of the waterfall, and, finally, the murmuring had faded out.
So this waterfall has such name.
It is a temple located about 1.5 km west of Sanzen-in, and is on the
west slope of the valley.
It is said that it was founded in 594 by Prince Shotoku, but some people say that it was founded by priest Ryonin in the late 11th century.
In the late 12th century, this temple was used as the place where some noble women lived in a hermitage.
The main temple was rebuilt around the early 17th century, but was destroyed by suspicious fire in 2000.
Current temple was rebuilt in 2005.
The admission fee is 600 yen.
From Kyoto station to Ohara stop, about 63 minutes by route bus with route No. 17 or 18. (Kyoto Bus)
Kyoto Imperial Palace