Honen (1133-1212) was a priest founded Jodo-shu (Pure Land Buddhism).
He had trained with his disciples in a small hut in the current site, at one time.
But Honen had been exiled in his later years, and some of his disciples were punishable by the death penalty, because new Jodo-shu had been regarded as a bad religion.
So this small hut had fallen into ruin over a long period.
In 1680, Banbu, the 38th chief priest of Chion-in temple, decided a new temple in this site related to Honen, and current Honen-in was built.
The main gate has a thatched roof, so we receive the modest impression.
After entering the gate, we find two mounds of white sand on the both sides of the passway.
It is called "Byakusadan", and it means that the mounds are "water" and our bodies and minds are purified with passing between the mounds.
And there are some buildings and gardens in temple grounds surrounded
by a lot of trees.
There are many camellia trees.
The admission fee is free.
But when we visit Hondou (Main temple), we are allowed only to reach its entrance and cannot enter the temple. (Taking photos of Hondou and some other buildings is not permitted.)
Hondou is opened to the public only on April 1-7th and November 1-7th for a fee.
From Kyoto station, about 30
minutes to Jodoji stop, by bus with route No. 5.
Then about 10 minutes walk from there.
Kyoto Imperial Palace