Japan Travel Guide - Let's go to Japan!
HOME > Okinawa Prefecture > Seifa-Utaki


Seifa-Utaki Seifa-Utaki is a former sacred place of Ryukyu Kingdom, and is located near the tip of small Chinen Peninsula at the southeast part of Okinawa Island.

In Okinawa language, "seifa" means "the highest position", and "utaki" means "sacred place".
Around the 15th and 16th centuries, this place was used as the sacred place for religious rites.

This site was managed by female priest.
And only women were allowed to enter this site. Male King wore a woman's dress at the entrance.

First, female priests went to "Urookaa" (a spring) to the right of the entrance, and purified their bodies.
Then they walked the approach through "Ujouguchi" (the entrance).

They reached "Ufuguui". It was the first worshipping place.
A path leads to "Yuinchi" to the left. It was the kitchen to make the meal for the king.
Another path leads to "Sanguui". It was the most sacred place.

The entrance Sanguui is a tunnel between two huge rocks.
Through the tunnel, there is the worshipping place.
From here, we can see the sea and an small island. The island is Kudaka Island, and Ryukyu mith says that the god of Ryukyu came from heaven and create the island first.

In 2000, Seifa-Utaki was declared a World Heritage site, as one of Gusuku Sites and Related Properties of the Kingdom of Ryukyu.
Now, male visitors have been allowed to visit the site.

How to get to here

By route bus

By route bus with route No.38, about 40 minutes from Naha terminal to Seifa-Utaki-iriguchi stop.

Entrance of the site Ruin of Urookaa (a spring)
Ujouguchi (the entrance) Ufuguui
Yuinchi In front of Sanguui
Tunnel to Sanguui Inside of Sanguui
Kudaka island from Sanguui
All photos by Rettou-houmotsukan

Copyright © travel-around-japan.com. All Rights Reserved.
Sponsored Links

Spots in Okinawa Prefecture

Naha city
Shuri Castle
Former Underground -Headquarters
Senseki Park
Nakagusuku Castle
Katsuren Castle
Zakimi Castle
Cape Zanpa
Ryukyu Mura
Ocean Expo Park
Nakijin Castle
Cape Hedo

Ie Island
Kerama Islands
Kume Island
Miyako Island
Ishigaki Island
Taketomi Island
Iriomote Island
Hateruma Island
Yonaguni Island