Ruin of Naniwa Palace is
located just south of Osaka Castle.
In Japanese, it is called "Naniwa-no-miya" and the formal name is "Naniwa Nagara-Toyosaki-no-miya".
For only 10 years from 645 to 655, here was the capital of Japan.
In 645, Emperor Koutoku transfered the capital from Asuka area in Nara
Prefecture to here.
And new and gorgeous palace was completed in 652.
But he was died in 654, and the next Empress Saimei transfered the capital to Asuka again.
About a century later, Emperor Shomu also transfered the capital and a
detached palace was set up.
But the capital was transfered the other place next year.
It is thought that there was a town around here by that time.
These facts were written in an ancient history book in the 8th century.
But the ruin hadn't been found.
In 1953, a roof tile using large temple was found here, and the excavation and reserch was done.
Then the existance of these capitals was confirmed in 1961.
Now this ruin has been a historic park.
Also a part of the ruin is under Osaka Museum of History.